Posted by: Daisy | December 21, 2009

Who, what, where and when

This is one of my favourite U2 songs, Running to Stand Still.

I love particularly:

“You’ve got to cry without weeping
Talk without speaking
Scream without raising your voice”

I remember clearly doing all of those things, feeling lost in my inability to communicate effectively the thoughts in my head. I remember feeling as if I was suffering from something, that is likely best described as living the teen years.

I had lunch with someone I met 22 years ago. We laughed. We didn’t cry, though we thought of tear-jerking moments that were worthy of crying or laughing or both. This friend made an impact on me all those years ago. I am in awe and honoured to still be friends with him.

It struck me that every year, we meet countless people, some of whom we never meet again. By the stroke of luck, we meet some who we wish we met sooner. I am reminded that I don’t always know who will become one of those folks who will end up being a life-long friend. Even more telling, we don’t know what kind of an impact they’ll have on us going forward. Although I’d love to fast forward and know just who, what, where and when, I also know that it’s more fun this way to live the who, what, where and when as it happens.

Here’s a live version:

And another song I love:

– Daisy

Responses

  1. The song is of course about heroin addiction and tells the story of a woman that Bono knew who was addicted to the drug. But he has said that it also about anyone “who is drifting and addicted to anything” not just those that “suffer the needle chill”. The seven towers that he sings about are the seven tower blocks of the Ballymun estate in Dublin where drug addiction was rife, although it has since been demolished.

    Incidentally the red and yellow smoke that is used at the end of the live version was also significant. U2’s head of security at the time once told Bono about the smoke that was used in Vietnam (in which he as a solider) to call in helicopter support. He said it always made him relax when he saw it. Bono like this idea and used it in the show. The first time the security manager saw it used he cried apparently.

    Sorry, I could talk about U2 forever. Thanks for posting these, they still raise the hairs on the back of my neck like they did when I first heard them.

    • Yes, it seems you could talk about U2 for a bit. I’m thinking that perhaps you’re one of those blokes with a collection that might be worth insuring.


Leave a Reply

Categories

