Posted by: Daisy | December 23, 2009

My first 3D movie

I rarely go to the movie theatre. I am afraid I have fallen into the trap of waiting to hear what others think and then waiting for it on DVD. The last time I really anxiously waited with bated breath to see a movie in the theatre was so long ago a generation has grown up since then. So when I say that I have never seen a 3D movie until now, well, I have been living under a rock.

I saw Avatar on tuesday. I won’t give away anything however, stop reading if there’s any concern whatsoever. You have been forewarned.

I have found the phenomenon surrounding this movie quite interesting. Others have compared it to Star Wars and how that changed movie-making forever. Another wrote of how the teenage audience seemed changed by the experience including a marked positive intensity exhibited by his very own teenage son. I found it amusing the audience clapped during one part of the movie – is it my inexperience with movies, or does this happen infrequently?

When you compare it to something like Star Wars, I can only imagine it’s super-hype that can only raise my expectations to a difficult level. Don’t take me there, it’ll only be a disappointment. Now that I’ve seen it, I don’t quite get all the hype. Don’t get me wrong, I would say it was certainly entertaining and visually breath-taking, however, I could name other movies I have loved that have had elements of great story-telling weaved with incredible visuals and special effects all geared to teens and adults alike. I am sure technologically, it was (is) incredible. I am sure now that the technology exists, it will change the way other movies are made. It only makes sense to piggy-back on the learnings of others. However, from an overall movie-going experience, I want to be wowed on multiple levels and this one only seemed to wow me technologically. I want more than that.

– Daisy

P.S. I do have to admit they make the blue dudes and dudettes look pretty good – I can see next halloween’s adult costumes already.

Responses

  1. Hey – yet to see it, but here is an interesting, albeit long, article by an astrophysics professor on how the science in it rates: http://www.aintitcool.com/node/43440. More hype I suppose, for those who are hyper about it. πŸ™‚

    • holy mackeral, that was an awesome link! thank you. Yes, long, but appreciate the style and information written there. Based on geeky astrophysics professors thoughts, it sounds like James Cameron deserves a huge high five, thumbs up.. whatever for getting high marks for the science. Good for him.

      Since I wouldn’t know any of this science stuff, nor would I have much appreciation for the technology (just that I know both were difficult), I can still only base it on my experience – I needed more…. oh nevermind. Obviously everyone loves it, and who am I to critique any of it? Just go see and tell me what you think.

  2. Merry Christmas

    • Thank you.. and Merry Christmas to you too! But I’ve gotta ask – what crazy hour of the morning is this for you?!!! Shouldn’t you be sleeping? Oh wait. I just did the math. I guess you’re waking up. (Well, I should go to sleep. It’s now 1:30am my time) Night night LOM. Night night computer.

  3. I didn’t get to see Avatar in 3D but that’s ok, because I can’t see 3D movies anyway. I did see just the regular version and I liked it. No, it was not earth-shattering to me, but I wouldn’t mind seeing it again, because it was visually beautiful. And I have had one man admit to me that he thought the blue chick was hot! My son on the other hand thinks it’s the most amazing movie he has ever seen. He’s seen it twice and wants to go again, but we told him no. Overall though, I thought it was good and will probably buy it when it comes out on DVD.

    • I was told a CBC reviewer did a not-so-nice review of the movie which echoed some of what I thought, so I looked it up. I’d venture to say they were a bit harsher than I, however, I can’t disagree with what they wrote which in essence was that the storyline was ehhh, and the characters had no depth.

      Don’t get me wrong – I’d go see this movie again because it is visually incredible and I think my son would love it too… but I suppose I was hoping for a bit more…

  4. Definitely a win for me. Yeah, the story takes the same lines as any messianic style movie, and yeah, it had it’s cliches, but it connected on many levels:

    1) Beautiful semi-naked woman, playing exceptionally strong characters. Sigh.
    2) Flying!
    3) Mech warriors, or whatever they are called

    Deep, I know. πŸ™‚ I will see it again.

    Happy New Year!

    • You forgot the beautiful semi-naked men, but no worries, I won’t forget that. I loved the dragon (at least that’s what I call it).


Leave a Reply

Categories

