Posted by: Daisy | January 10, 2010

hissy-fit #2?

Oh, I must be stressed (yes, I am). I can always tell when I’m stressed because I hissy-fit about non-issues.

Here’s my second hissy-fit of 2010, and it’s only 10 days in!

I happened to see my blog from your view (pretty view) vs my view (admin view) and was astounded there were ads on my blog. Not just one, or two or three, but I believe there were about 5 or 6 google text ads sitting right there staring at me with innocent looking type. Ads? On my blog? Who the Bleep put those there and how do I get rid of them?

So I quickly searched and found my answer. Apparently, as part of my original terms and conditions with wordpress, it indicates that I agree ocsasionally, WP may put ads on my blog in order to help keep the free features free.

Hmppphhh. I’m not going to even begin yacking my hissy-fit opinion about the cost of free features. At this point, I’m just going to walk away and remind myself that perhaps I do need a glass of wine afterall.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. I had not noticed them, now I am going to see if I have some, hehe.

    I don’t recall seeing them on your site, however, I mostly read via google reader (me bad). – Daisy

  2. I’ve never seen any ads on your site…

    Good to know. I looked it up and wordpress did indicate that yes, they occassionally will throw ads in. I don’t know their algorithms for when they will/won’t? Good to see you again Randi – I was beginning to wonder where you’d gone as I keep returning to your site waiting for the next question! – Daisy

  3. I have never seen any either. If you are unsure about WordPress, why not consider moving to Blogger where things only appear if you put them there?

    There are plenty of “how-to’s” to get all your posts etc moved across.

    Quite funny. Funny because this blog started on blogger. I moved it from blogger to wordpress after a few months and though I can not for the life of me remember what exactly prompted the move, I do recall that there were things about wordpress that suited me far better. Within 2 days of the move, I was thrilled to bits that I made the move.

    so long story short – I’m normally quite happy with wordpress. I’m just stressed and over-reacting to stupid little things, and seeing ads was one of them. – Daisy

  4. I just noticed an ad on my blog too and the first thing I did was search on here how to remove them.

    Your blog was the first one I came across and although I now know I can’t remove them it did direct me here so there’s a bright side to it 🙂

    There’s always a bright side, isn’t there? Re: the ads – they don’t seem to be that common. Personally, I love wordpress for many reasons, and consider the ads a necessary evil once in a while. I hope you’ll come back soon. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

