Posted by: Daisy | February 1, 2010

Dreaming a difference

I used to think that I wanted to change the world. I wanted to impact world peace. I wanted to discover the cure for cancer and prevent wars. I wanted to show the world how compassionate we could all be. I wanted to make a difference.

Then I grew up and realized I was only dreaming of far-away lives and lands that only existed in the movies, books, and other fairytales. I came to understand a little better just how difficult those dreams might be, and I had absolutely no tools, and no ideas on how I could go about reaching those goals. It became apparent to me that I just didn’t have it in me to go down any of those paths – I was just way too lazy to even start. I completely dropped those dreams in a heap and decided to live a life of reality and practicality.

In those young years, I thought life was all or nothing. Black or white, with no shades of grey or colour. It didn’t occur to me that you can achieve big goals in smaller ponds that felt just as rich, impactful, and good. Decades later, I still can’t cure cancer, nor have I found world peace. However, I’ve made a difference in my pond and with my luck, I’ll have decades more to expand that pond to the nearby lake, sea and ocean.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Daisy,
    I used to wish for the same things, but then I came to realise we could never have it. Imagine a world with no war or disease. We would have to limit the amount of new babies, pick who had children and who didn’t, (that might not be such a bad thing), because without war and disease the world would be over populated. War and disease are a necessary evil, sad but true. You are right you have to make your world a better and happier place and hope that spreads.

    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    ( ooops sorry I thought I was on facebook)

    hee hee.. you got me on the facebook comment. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

