Posted by: Daisy | February 3, 2010

unbroken

I am happy. I am excited. I am thrilled.
I show you feelings of hyped up joy.
I am sadness. I am anger. I am tortured.
I curl and cry in despair alone.

I rail at what should be, wishing for fairness.
I laugh at what could be, happy I avoided disaster.
I am saddened at my powerlessness.
I fight within for stability.

Good things I am, though sometimes I behave poorly.
Best intentions I have, though sometimes it doesn’t show.
Intensely I feel, though sometimes I show no emotion.
Easily hurt, though sometimes I look strong.

Leave me to my thoughts and feelings
Allow me the time I need
Don’t fix me for I am unbroken
I have every right to feel what I feel.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. I enjoyed the final lines of this poem…”Don’t fix me for I am unbroken I have every right to feel what I feel.” It reminds me of those folks who feel they have a right to fix anything they see…thanks!

    Well, hello, thanks for the visit and comment. Glad you enjoyed it and I’ll have to come around to your neck of the woods soon. – Daisy

  2. I don’t care what you say, you climbed inside my head and took a good look around to write this. 🙂

    Thank you Daisy.

    Yeah, I was definately poking around in there, and let me tell you.. some very interesting stuff in there.. I could write a book or something. Or not. Glad it resonated with you – Daisy

  3. I have to add a little P.S. to this post.

    I have received some very kind emails about this and I wanted to share a little more about this poem and the journey it went on.

    Normally, I will write things very quickly and move on. If I am unable to finish it within a short timeframe, it typically will never get finished. This is a rare one that survived a “long” incubation.

    One person sent me something via email that inspired me to start writing it. Another conversation at a later date inspired more. Another communication from another person recently inspired the completion of it.

    I cherish those wonderful communications that inspire and help me write whatever it is I write. A very special thank you, to you. You make me want to keep writing. 🙂

    Daisy

  4. […] any of it? Very interesting indeed. Let’s try using an example – I wrote a poem called unbroken and posted here in 2010. Here’s an excerpt from my own P.S. that shows how the poem was […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

