Posted by: Daisy | February 19, 2010

Where’ve you been?

To say I’ve been busy would be an understatement. I have, what can only be described as, living a life of information overload. My brain has been pfittzing out regularly as data and information I’m trying to put in, consistently falls out due to the sheer volumes trying to get jammed in.

I’ve been physically and mentally exhausted.

Just what has been happening? I have spent the last 18 months or so testing the waters career-wise with a transition from my umpteen years in marketing to sales. As some of you know, I had a horrible experience back in the summer in a disasterous role which took away my life, happiness and health leaving me with just a shell of my former self. It lasted a mere 6 weeks before I quit and moved on to a much healthier sales role. I don’t take roles lightheartedly and have had long-standing stints at companies lasting a very good length of time. So, it was a huge disappointment to say the least when this one went down in flames so quickly.

I learned from the experience and moved on to another role which taught me even more. In fact, I came to understand first hand, the cold hard difficulty of certain types of sales roles. Boy, did I learn a lot. Not only did I learn a lot about sales (and people), I also learned a lot about the ins and outs of a small company.

When the opportunity came to return to my roots in marketing for an industry I already had experiences in, working with genuine team-players, I could not resist. So, I left my flexible hours, and work-from-home perks, and returned to corporate.

This would mean I’m on my third new company in less than a year. I’ve learned a lot of new systems, products across three industries, acronyms, people, and places in a very short amount of time. The great news is that it’s clear to me, this one’s a keeper. My historical length of service at corporate averages 7 years so I’m hoping this one will be as long if not longer.

It’s been an absolute roller-coaster ride. Although I had experiences in the industry, this time around, I am working on a different product. I started at a time when the activity level is at super-duper-high, and found myself launched into the nitty gritty of the business on Day 2. Even if I had been at the company for years before, I would consider this an extremely exciting time. Pile that, along with my status of “newbie” trying to understand the lingo, acronyms, systems and who’s responsible for what and you’ve got information overload.

Oh, plus, add on my 2nd job as a fitness instructor, and learning the new choreography, and you’ve got a mentally/physically exhausted heap that was me.

I’m trying to keep my head above water, and it’s working; however, it does mean I go to sleep around 10 something (which is a far cry from my usual bedtime) utterly pooched leaving little bandwidth left to be here, or even on emails.

Am I happy? Absolutely. Am I tired? Absolutely. Will I return more regularly? Absolutely. I just might be returning on a seemingly roller coaster zipping in and zipping out fashion with the wind blowing through my hair. I hope you’ll still be here.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. we will always be here, take your time

    thanks LOM – you’re always so supportive – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

