Posted by: Daisy | March 2, 2010

Glued to the Olympic TV

I know I’m a little late, however this post has been sitting in my head since Sunday night, and I’m only now finding (making) the time to jot it down. It’s important, and I want to capture the thought, so let’s just say it’s better late than never.

The TV was on from 3pm until 11:30pm non-stop on Sunday. It started with the Canada/USA Olympic gold medal hockey game. I understand there was a survey done earlier where Canadians were asked to choose between winning medals and winning gold in men’s hockey, and an overwhelming % of people would rather win gold in hockey. Phew, good thing we didn’t have to choose because YAAAYYYYYY CANADA! I was actually quite stunned by the survey – Olympics for me are about the athletes, the teams, the multiple sports and the heartwarming stories. I’d never want to put all my hopes on one sport or game alone. Thank goodness the majority of Canadians (or at least the ones who answered the survey) were not disappointed.

I’d also have to agree with others that the games have really helped to unite Canadians across the country. From the lengthy torch relay reaching cities and towns coast-to-coast, to the actual games, we seem to have been beaming ear-to-ear talking non-stop about our athletes and the games. Then again, it’s possible I’ve just been the one driving conversations everywhere and every day about Olympic this or that. Funny how reality can be warped by what you do. Now I really am wondering if it is true, or if I just made it true within my realm.

As I watched the Closing Ceremonies, I laughed hysterically at the way we poked fun of old-fashioned Canadian stereotypes like the moose, beaver, mounties and hockey, and wondered why the igloos and dog sleds were missing. I’d love to have one of those moose sitting atop my house as I proudly proclaim, “My name is Daisy, and I’m Canadian.” I could not help but wonder if the rest of the world actually realized those blow-up characters were simply stereotypes, or did they just think we were worshipping our heaven on earth?

It doesn’t matter. It’s all good. I’m sad it’s over, but also relieved. Thanks for another Winter Olympics to inspire the young and young at heart – see you again soon.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Hi Daisy,

    I really enjoyed the Olympics and the talent of the athletes. Although it’s wonderful when someone wins gold, it’s their stories that really warm my heart.

    Seems weird now to turn on the TV and not see the games. Like you, I’m a little sad.

    Agree 100% – it’s the stories that make it the Olympics for me. Thanks for the visit Barbara; I always feel honoured when you come around and comment at my humble spot. – Daisy

  2. Hello,

    Your blog has been recommended to us as a interviewee’s favorite blog!

    We would like to do an interview with you about your blog for
    http://www.BlogInterviewer.com . We’d like to give you the opportunity to
    give us some insight on the “person behind the blog.”

    It would just take a few minutes of your time. The interview form can
    be submitted online at http://bloginterviewer.com/submit-an-interview

    Best regards,

    Mike Thomas

    Well, just how sweet is that. I’m just tickled and curious as to who might have quoted *my* blog as one of their favourites – thanks muchly; it seems a real honour. – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

