Posted by: Daisy | May 4, 2010

A box of Kleenex

I walked into a meeting last week with a box of Kleenex. It must have seemed a scary item. Who walks into a meeting with a box of Kleenex? Well, obviously, I must be pretty scary.

I knew going into the meeting, that there was very little hope of avoiding the need for the Kleenex, short of just ignoring the planned discussion altogether, and I was not about to avoid it any longer. My mind was made up, it was simply time to lay it all out on the table. I was going to answer the question of “What’s really going on” as I realized I had stressor upon stressor of things piling on from all aspects of my life. And with that, a whole weight was lifted off as I poured out my thoughts, both subjective and objective about the matter at hand. I walked out with a box less full of Kleenex, but with the ability to get through the day, and week.

In hindsight knowing how much better I feel afterwards, I wonder why I waited so long to bring in a box of Kleenex. I know that next time, perhaps I won’t even need to use the Kleenex; just the symbol of a box of Kleenex might be enough to generate a smile and candid discussion.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. keep smiling Daisy.

    well of course LOM 🙂 – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

