Posted by: Daisy | July 1, 2010

bad business and ransom

Every working day, I’ve been dealing with what I’ll call one particular “bad business”.  Those organizations who prey on consumers, or opportunities.  The best way to describe it is a company that I’d never be able to work at.  Its sad really.  Across my desk, I happened to see a letter sent out by said “bad business” signed by an employee and I wondered what poor soul could possibly feel comfortable working for an organization like that.  I googled her, found her profile on linkedin.com, and understood based on her background.  This was probably an opportunity for her to get some great experience.

The competitive side of me judges her, while the nurturing side thinks I should give her a call, Torontonian to Torontonian to see if I can connect her to people at better organizations so she can feel proud of what she can accomplish without resorting to tactics that make me cringe.  Then the competitive side also realizes that by taking her out of the picture, it’ll help increase their already high turnover costs.  Oh dear.  Just who am I?

And on another note.  Here’s another bad business.  The one that purchased jono’s website, with the intention to turn around, and sell it back to him for over 4000% more than he originally paid for e-clecticism.com.  I’ll bet money that’s a business with a plan that preys on the emotions, relatively low dollar value (we’re not talking thousands of dollars), and convenience to be able to get back, what you feel you own, and have had for years.  I even think there’s a systematic plan for renewals of websites that somehow helps and/or allows this sort of profit to be made easily and quickly.  It’s not the first I’ve heard of websites lost, and easily regained at the low low price of…

I’m not sure his future plan yet for his site (whether he’ll pay the ransom or find another address), however he can still be found at his original blogger site found at… oh dear.  I don’t know.  And you can’t google it.  I’m sure he’ll comment and tell you his blogspot site.  🙂

BTW, Happy Canada Day.  Whoohoo!  Get BACK to work tomorrow Daisy!

Updated – It is: http://e-clecticism.blogspot.com/
– Daisy

Responses

  1. […] Every working day, I've been dealing with what I'll call one particular "bad business".  Those organizations who prey on consumers, or opportunities.  The best way to describe it is a company that I'd never be able to work at.  Its sad really.  Across my desk, I happened to see a letter sent out by said "bad business" signed by an employee and I wondered what poor soul could possibly feel comfortable working for an organization like that.  I goog … Read More […]

  2. Hello Daisy and thank you. Yes I did lose my domain name and I fear a lot of readers in the process. e-clecticism’s address is now http://e-clecticism.blogspot.com/ and I please ask that any Bloggers that know me please help spread the word.

    It may sound dramatic but I have to say the whole affair has left me feeling a little like I have been robbed and I won’t be pursuing the name back. I just need to concentrate on getting the readers back.

    Thanks again for mentioning this, you’re a star!

    no problem – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

