Posted by: Daisy | July 2, 2010

routines

Routines form the backbone of my day
It allows me to get lost in thoughts
About the who, when, and where
Plus the what and how of upcoming plans

Clock, toilet, teeth, shower, clothes
Cereal, milk and out the door
Until the day something stops me mid-track
Throwing off my routine just a smidge.

Sideswiped from routine, I notice
Some of the things I took for granted
And some of the things I wonder how I accepted
Sideswiped from routine, I look confused.

Clock, toilet, teeth, shower, clothes
Cereal, milk and out the door
How did I get here
And what’s the point?

Clock, toilet, teeth, shower, clothes
Cereal, milk and out the door
It’s what I expected, what everyone wanted
But why don’t I care?

Clock, toilet, teeth, shower, clothes
Cereal, milk and out the door
Spinning out of control
I’m getting dizzy on this merry-go-round.

Clock, toilet, teeth, shower, clothes
Cereal, milk and out the door
Help me off. Stop the ride. Unplug.
I could not possibly have chosen this.

I need to Reset, Revitalize, Rejuvenate
Music, Teeth, PJ’s
Cereal, Milk and Meditation
To begin my new days

– Daisy

Leave a Reply

Categories

