Posted by: Daisy | November 8, 2010

Buried by noon

A dreaded birthday is approaching. Heavens above me, please help me survive this unscathed. Ahh yes, I’m feeling all strange, and mid-life crisis-y, yet really, I’m not panicking just yet. It is still months away, and I’m not dead at least. Well, not yet. Darn, I hope not anytime soon.

I was reminded once again of our time-limited nature. I was told today someone’s someone died at the young age of 38 leaving behind his wife and two young kids. Just went to sleep, and never woke up. The best part of the story is when he told me that when someone dies, you just have to bury them right away. He told me that in his culture, it’s ASAP. “Died in the am? Buried by noon.” he tells me. “They’ve left this world, they don’t belong here anymore, mourning-smourning – there’s no need to delay”. Ummmmm, okay. That seems to make sense.

So, let’s assume I’m not dead. Phew. What do I do now? Grow of course. I’m a flower, you know. If I don’t grow, I may as well whither, die, and be buried and composting by noon. Oh, how lovely. I think I better grow a little and write a better post.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. Don’t be a flower Daisy, be a tree big and strong and they live a lot longer

    Ahh, yes, of course, the Daisy Tree. Thanks. 🙂

  2. So, I guess a front lawn full of pink Flamingo’s in the snow would not help the aging process.

    “F*** no”, I’d say in the sweetest Daisy Tree voice

  3. This isn’t the first post you have written that gives me an overwhelming urge to give you a hug. It sounds so sad.

    Don’t worry about getting older Daisy. It is not the amount of time we have been around but what we do with that time. Leaving your mark on life is the key in my opinion. How we impact the world and those that surround us.

    Truly I’m not sad, however, I appreciate the sentiment – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

