Posted by: Daisy | December 2, 2010

Swear at me with that lovely accent

I overheard a gentleman with an accent telling another co-worker about an issue he was having. I could not help grinning because although clearly I could hear the frustration in his voice as he was relaying the issues he was running into, all I could think of was how pleasant his accent sounded. Even those expletives sounded lovely.

What the Bleep is wrong with me?

Read me a passage from the most boring text book.
Tell me what the weather report is today.
Share with me what terrible things my son has done today.

It’s all much easier when you say it pleasantly to me with that lovely accent. Perhaps I should invent an automated accent converter that will translate your voice from the regular every day ones to an exotic one for those days when your patience level is low, and you need a little something something so that you aren’t about to go postal on that irate customer. Just say, “Hang on Mr. Smith, put on this contraption and tell me again what the issue is?… ahhhhhhh. Certainly Mr Smith, I can see why you’re upset and here’s how I can help you with that issue.”

– Daisy

Responses

  1. For **** sake Daisy, if really you ****** love ****** accents so much, ****** knock youself ****** out with this ****** site. 🙂

    http://www.oddcast.com/home/demos/tts/tts_example.php

    OMG, that’s hilarious. I’ve got “Simon” telling me “I hope you’re having a wonderful day”. 🙂

  2. Brilliant! I was laughing so hard! But of course you’re right. The right accent can make even the most unpleasant of confrontations a joy to be a part of! Do you have any idea what that gentleman’s accent was? 😛

    Tony, the only accent I could possibly tell you, is it must have been Australian… 🙂 – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

