Posted by: Daisy | December 29, 2010

That’s disturbing

After watching Food Inc., I’m feeling quite sickly to my stomach about the food industry in general.

I won’t get into the details of what this documentary was all about except to say that it documents a very small number of multi-national companies which in essence owns and controls the industry including some less than ideal dirt on how politics also comes into play. Ick.

And then the big company sues the little guy until they can’t afford legal fees anymore and settles out of court? Where’s the justice? Why do we accept that?

You can almost hear me seething, can’t you? This sort of thing brings out fond memories of my teenage years when passion for those issues bigger than a country loomed over my head. People told me in their own way to “forget about it” and I never understood why the average person accepted all that was wrong in the world. Does everyone simply like to roll over and take it?

Sigh. I do understand why we take it. I think we just need to understand we have a choice in the matter, and fighting it does not necessarily mean you need to pick up a weapon. We have strength in numbers, and it’s a volume game that can be played one individual at a time. Don’t be a bleeping average sheep.

– Daisy

P.S. Someone once told me that if I had been born in another time/place, in war, for instance, I’d accept many things without saying a word. She is so wrong. In war, I’d just be part of the resistance.

Responses

  1. Happy New Year, yes I know I am late

    Good heavens, not nearly as late as I am – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

