Posted by: Daisy | January 26, 2011

The story-telling scarf

I started a post on Dec 31st, 2010 – it was a cut and paste of some classic Daisy “things” from around 1989-1991. Basically, while I read it, I laughed and remembered that yes, I have always been this way – just a wee off-kilter.

I do wish to complete that post one day, but today is not that day (any Geeks out there hear Return of the King for a brief moment?). Instead, I wish to tell you about the scarf very briefly.

I made it. Oh yes, I knitted it using about 20 different yarns. I even dyed the yarn. I even lived on a farm where we raised the sheep. I even manufactured my own knitting needles. Needless to say, only the first two sentences in this paragraph are true, however, what is even more telling is the story that my scarf told. You see, I knit the scarf, while writing a story about what was happening. What was disturbing is that the story I told was one of wars (between colours and materials) and disease. Every sentence was about what was “taking over” and who was “winning”.

Yes, it was classic Daisy in that, I had never heard of anyone else knitting a story-telling scarf, but I’m so glad 20+ years later, I’m no longer writing about war, disease and fighting. Life is not a treacherous journey battled with knitting needles.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. I like this idea, I do hope you post it one day.

    Quote spotted, let me share my favourite from the fellowship…”Despair is only for those who see the end beyond all doubt. We do not.”

    Total Geek – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

