Posted by: Daisy | June 1, 2011

employee discount

There’s an employee discount and then there’s an EMPLOYEE DISCOUNT.

I’ve been working for various organizations for the past I-dare-not-say-how-many-years. I once worked for a large packaged goods company and thoroughly enjoyed the “perks” of getting every day products for low, low prices. I stopped working at that company in 2001, and since then, I’ve worked in positions where the employee discount was essentially big ticket items that you buy maybe once every few decades. Plus, they’re kind of boring things to buy and absolutely nothing sexy about essentials like furnaces and roofs. But we don’t choose the company we work for based on the employee discount, do we?

I’m still working in the same essentials industry, but for a company with employee discounts that I can use Every. Single. Day. They were having a shoe sale. NO KIDDING. 50% off ladies sandals… yeah, that’s the sale. PLUS, I got my employee discount. PLUS, I paid with my new credit card, so I got bonus points that I can redeem for more shoes. YEAH. Now THAT’s a shoe sale!

Oh, and do you know what I missed out on? There was a sample sale recently. Tops for $2. Bottoms for $3. 20 minutes for you to go digging and find your treasure. REALLY? Will there ever be another shoe sale? 🙂

Welcome to the discretionary purchases of a closet shopoholic who’s got a better handle on preventing purchases than she does on coffee. OYE, gold jewellery is also on sale at 40% off. I wonder if there’s anything my ears need… security – please walk me out before I spend my paycheque.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. What are you thinking Daisy, new shoes always need new earrings.

    I have never worked anywhere that had perks, even when I worked in a factory, (making jeans) we didn’t get a discount.

    Hahaha – exactly. New shoes can bring more new shoes, or earrings too. I’ve only made the one purchase so far, so let’s see how it goes for the next 6 months or so – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

