Posted by: Daisy | July 24, 2011

Sadness for an orchid

In October 2008, I posted this lovely link and song by Amy Winehouse. I was saddened to hear of her death yesterday. She would be one of those rare orchids with incredible talent, needing a special environment and nurturing to be at her best. I wish there were something more we could do for all the orchids in the world like Amy and others, to help them grow and thrive.

After my post on orchids, I was surprised at those who reached out to me to chat about orchids in general, and orchids in particular. It makes me wonder if there are far more orchids in the world, than we think. Or perhaps I’m simply blessed with being surrounded by orchids. Or perhaps because I love orchids, people introduce me to more and more of them. I think orchids show us something rare and special about our world and ourselves.

Amy – may you now be able to truly grow your talent without limitations of this life. Rest in peace.

– Daisy

Leave a Reply

Categories

