Posted by: Daisy | August 31, 2011

What I learned from CPR

I recently got my cpr once again. There is always that section on choking where we talk about the dynamics of human behaviour. That is, when one is choking, there is a high possibility they may feel embarrassed and run to the loo to hide. Yet, running out of site is not a good idea for someone with a high chance for passing out and needing cpr. We need to stay with them/close by in case it gets worse and they need our help. Time is of the essence.

This idea/thought about being around/nearby when you know there’s a higher than average chance of trouble is what I’m struggling a bit with. There’s the good ol’ good samaritan stuff that protects me should I provide cpr and the overall story doesn’t end well – I won’t get sued unless I’ve been a dumb-ass and negligent. But what about when they aren’t quite choking? What if you see the signs and symtoms and you just know there’s a higher than average chance? What if you see words and emotions that are equivalent of the not recommended back smack for choking? Do you try to help? Do you stay out of the way?

I think when it comes to life and death you call the professionals in and there needs to be recognition by all parties of how serious the situation is. And if its that bad and I see a choking scenario about to happen, its my duty not to be embarrassed. So perhaps I’ll just walk in, get slapped, but know I did everything I could.

– Daisy

Responses

  1. There is not much I can say to this…Just never underestimate what good even your smallest actions can do. You of all people should know that. For you I would do nothing more than follow your instincts because they seem right on the money from here. X

    Thanks jono. Sometimes, its hard to see the forest for the trees. I’ll keep trying to follow my gut – Daisy

  2. Isn’t it odd that some people would rather risk death by choking than the embarrassment of coughing up a bit of food? I’m with you. Better to try and do the right thing, than watch someone die…and live with “What if?” for the rest of your life. Acting compassionately requires courage.

    It’s true. I’m not ready to live with “what if” for the rest of my life. I just need to be reminded every so often to be courageous and do the right thing – Daisy

  3. Do what you can, if you don’t the ‘what if I had’s’ would be unliveable with. (Is unliveable even a word)?

    Thanks LOM – I think you’re right. 🙂 – Daisy


Leave a Reply

Categories

