Posted by: Daisy | December 19, 2013

Back in Time

I was better off financially in the late 1990’s than I am today.  Just how that is possible, I still have trouble understanding.  I remember looking at my finances in the late 1990’s when I was on track to retire early in my late 50’s with lots of wiggle room and not too many worries.  Fast forward to today, and I have just returned from changing the amortization on my mortgage from 14 years, to now a whopping 34 years, just to get the weekly payments down to the minimum.  From late 1990’s to now, we’ve gone through multiple job losses, and now a receivership.  Rather than the steady increases I saw in my investments as well as my salary in the 1990’s, I have instead seen income fluctuate like bad handwriting.

I don’t know what to expect going forward, and I can’t bank on the past as an indication of the future.  This lack of stability has suddenly turned a moderate risk-taker into a much more risk-averse person who actually likes the idea and sound of being a “Lifer” at some company with a pension plan.  Is it just me or are others also tired of this roller-coaster ride?

All I want for Christmas is the winning lottery ticket and some financial stability.  Then I can make my own thrills and switch to the kiddie koaster when my stomach needs a break.

– Daisy


Leave a comment

Categories